If you were injured in a serious car accident, the Law Offices of Ron Sholes, P.A. can help you get back on your feet. At our Starke office, we provide compassionate, personalized legal representation for injured victims and the families of those wrongfully killed throughout Bradford County. Our legal team has over 100 years of combined experience, along with access to six in-house investigators and other invaluable resources. We are ready to put our reputation for aggressive advocacy and history of success on your side.
Florida is what is known as a “no-fault” state. This means that all licensed drivers are required to carry $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance in addition to their minimum liability coverage. Ostensibly, the purpose of PIP is to allow car accident victims to recover compensation for certain damages more quickly and more efficiently than they would be able to through a standard personal injury claim. However, PIP also comes with certain limitations.
Florida’s no-fault system does not prevent you from bringing a personal injury claim against a negligent driver (or another liable party). However, you will need to prove that your injuries meet the state’s definition of a “serious injury” and/or that your medical bills exceed $10,000.
You may go outside the standard no-fault system and seek compensation for the full amount of your medical bills, lost wages, and non-economic damages (e.g., pain and suffering) if you can prove that your injuries meet the state’s serious injury threshold.
Most catastrophic injuries, including brain injuries and spine injuries, meet the serious injury threshold in Florida. Our Starke car accident lawyers can help you determine if you have grounds to step outside the state’s no-fault system and seek compensation for your economic and non-economic damages.
Like other states, Florida has a statute of limitations on car accident claims. This means that you only have a certain amount of time—four years from the date of the accident—to file a lawsuit. However, other important deadlines may apply, depending on the specifics of your case.
If your loved one died in a car crash, you only have two years from the date of death to file a wrongful death lawsuit against the liable party. If you wish to file a PIP claim after the accident, you must seek medical attention within 14 days of the accident to avoid having your claim dismissed.
In any case, it is always better to act quickly. The sooner you get in touch with our attorneys, the sooner we can begin gathering evidence, investigating the accident, and building your case. We encourage you to reach out to our firm right away if you were recently involved in a car accident and need help filing a PIP claim or personal injury lawsuit.
At the Law Offices of Ron Sholes, P.A., we offer free initial consultations and contingency fees. This means there are never any upfront or out-of-pocket expenses for you, and we only collect attorneys’ fees if we successfully recover compensation on your behalf. We answer all calls 24/7, and you will always reach a real, live member of our staff when you contact our firm.
If you or someone you love was injured in a crash, turn to the caring and experienced Starke car accident attorneys at the Law Offices of Ron Sholes, P.A. for the aggressive representation you deserve. Our motto is simple: if you’ve been hurt, we will fight.